Hunting for desmids in Upper Teesdale

Cronkley_Fell_141220

Cronkley Fell from near Widdybank Farm, December 2014

We had Upper Teesdale to ourselves on Saturday morning, most fellow-walkers having been deterred, perhaps, by the strong westerly winds.   They missed some spectacular lighting as the weak December sun briefly broke through the clouds to light the Pennine fells.   The open fire in the bar of the Langdon Beck Hotel, and the bowl of hot soup, were very welcome when we finally completed our regular 13 kilometre loop.

As ever, my eyes are forever adjusting between the grand panoramic landscapes of Upper Teesdale, and the small scale botanical wonders all around us. Today, my primary interest was the desmids that inhabit the blanket bog and I diverted off the boardwalks that mark the Pennine Way’s course along the Tees to squeeze the brown water from handfuls of Sphagnum moss into my sampling tubes. The peaty-brown water that I collect usually contains a diverse assemblage of desmids, which I’m collecting to form the basis of a new painting.

I wrote about the desmids from Upper Teesdale last year (see “More from Upper Teesdale”) but since then I have upgraded the camera on my microscope and also purchased focus stacking software (see “Now … with added depth of field …”) that makes a repeat visit worthwhile.   Many of the desmids I found were the same as those in my sample from March last year, though there were a couple of strangers and the long moon-shaped cells of Closterium striolatum did not fit neatly into a single field of view.   However, a quick scan of the slide revealed half a dozen abundant species and a few that were represented by just occasional specimens as well as plenty of diatoms, other green algae and protozoans.

sampling_desmids_in_Teesdal

Squeezing Sphagnum to collect desmids in Upper Teesdale, December 2014.   The photo doesn’t really capture the reality of the 30 km/hour winds and associated wind-chill.

When I look at desmids, I’m way out of my comfort zone, but there is something about their symmetrical, often intricate outlines that is beguiling and makes me want to continue scanning the slide in search of more.   This particular sampling trip is the first step of the research for a new painting and, like diatoms, the desmids have a beauty that transcends the limits of objective science. That’s my agenda for this painting: to use the microscopic life of Upper Teesdale’s boggy pools as the counterpoint to the rugged, panoramic beauty of the landscape itself.   I could use pictures of desmids from the books I have on my shelves, but I like my pictures to have a direct link with a particular place and time. It is veracity that, perhaps, few will appreciate, but without this the end-product would just be a collection of abstract shapes.

Teesdale_desmids_141220

Upper Teesdale desmids. a. Netrium oblongum; b. Micrasterias oscitans (var. mucronata); c Eurastrum didelta; d. Desmidium cf. aptogonum; e. Cosmarium ralfsii.; f. Micrasterias truncata.   Scale bar: 50 micrometres (1/20th of a millimetre).

4 thoughts on “Hunting for desmids in Upper Teesdale

  1. Pingback: Abstraction and reality in Upper Teesdale | microscopesandmonsters

  2. Pingback: Swimming with desmids … | microscopesandmonsters

  3. Pingback: More about mucilaginous algae | microscopesandmonsters

  4. Pingback: A visit to Loughrigg Fell | microscopesandmonsters

Leave a Reply

